

Board of Trustees

Meeting Minutes for

December 18, 2024

1. Call to Order: President St.Myers called the meeting of the McMillan Library Board of Trustees to order at 5:00p.m.

2. Roll Call:

Board Members:

Andrea Galván Evan O'Day Conni O'Keefe
Dennis Martin Karen Schill Emily Kent - absent

Ryan Austin Ron Rasmussen Susan Feith

William Clendenning Scott Kellogg Elizabeth St. Myers

Administration: Katherine Elchert, Library Director; Claire Parrish, Assistant Director

Others in Attendance: Kevin Fangman, patron; Eric Miller, patron

3. Open Meetings Declaration: President St. Myers established that this was a public meeting and appropriate public notice with Zoom access was given.

4. Approval of Previous Minutes

Motion by W. Clenndenning to approve minutes of the November 20, 2024 meeting and the December 12, 2024 Special Board meeting, second by A. Galván. Motion carried unanimously.

5. Treasurer's Report

a. Monthly Finance Reports:

Endowment Book Funds dispersed in 2023: Vaughn: \$1,458.35, Witter: \$633.64; never cashed as were not seen at the library. The Endowment Board will provide clarification on how funds are dispersed and who signed the checks disbursed in 2022.

b. Payment of the Bills: \$749.11 Demco bill was listed for two months in a row, the actual paid bills from November were \$36,361.39.

Motion by R. Rasmussen to approve the December bills at 35.505.31, second by K. Schill. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by A. Galván to approve the Endowment bills at \$10,600, second by R. Rasmussen. Motion carried unanimously.

6. Director's Report

a. Library Use and Events: Director's report shared

b. Statistics: Reviewedc. Miscellaneous: N/A



Board of Trustees

d. Meet the Board: N/A

7. Committee Reports

a. Services Committee: Did not meet

b. Buildings & Grounds Committee: Did not meet

c. Finance Committee: Met December 11th; discussed policies

d. Personnel Committee: Did not meet

8. Unfinished Business

a. Library Board Workshop Update: On pause until new Director arrives

b. 2024 Facility Updates: Radtke signed agreement has been submitted; Jewell is conducting bid process until December 23rd, January 7th at 5pm there will be a Special Meeting with Jewell to present the bids and recommendations to expedite the elevator purchase

9. New Business

- a. 2025 Closures: Motion by R. Rasmussen to approve the 2025 closure dates as presented, second by C. O'Keefe. Motion carried unanimously.
- b. 2025 COLA: Motion by C. O'Keefe to accept the 2% COLA as presented, second by S. Kellogg. Motion by W. Clendenning to amend the amount to 3%, second by E. O'Day.

Roll Call:

Andrea Galván - no	Evan O'Day - yes	Conni O'Keefe - yes
Dennis Martin - yes	Karen Schill - yes	Emily Kent - excused
Ryan Austin - yes	Ron Rasmussen - no	Susan Feith - no
William Clendenning - ves	Scott Kellogg - ves	Elizabeth St.Mvers - ves

Motion to amend to 3% passes with 8 yes votes and 3 nos.

Motion by C. O'Keefe to accept the amended 3% COLA as presented, second by S. Kellogg. Motion carried, R. Rasmussen and S. Feith opposed.

c. Reserve Fund Policy: Reviewed

Motion by R. Rasmussen to approve the reserve fund policy as presented, second by S. Kellogg. Motion carried unanimously.

d. Endowment Information Request: clarification on what is known and not known re: specifications of the book funds in terms of what can be purchased; clear outline of all the funds and their restrictions

10. Information Requests:

Endowment follow-up



Board of Trustees

11. Items for Next Agenda

Motion to adjourn by A. Galván, second by S. Kellogg. Motion carried unanimously.

Meeting adjourned by President St. Myers at 6:26pm.

Respectfully Submitted: Claire Parrish, Assistant Director