MINUTES PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE

DATE: Monday, June 9, 2025

TIME: 9:00 AM

PLACE: Courthouse – Conference Rm #302

MEMBERS PRESENT: Joseph Zurfluh, William Voight, Dennis Polach, Jeff Penzkover, Brad

Hamilton

OTHERS PRESENT: Trent Miner, County Clerk; See attached sign-in list

1. Chairman Zurfluh called the meeting to order at 9:00 AM.

- 2. The minutes of the previous meeting were reviewed. Motion by Hamilton/Voight to approve the minutes as presented. Motion carried unanimously.
- 3. There was no public comment.
- 4. The next meeting will be held on Monday, July 14, 2025, at 9:00 AM.
- 5. Lt. Scott Goldberg shared a presentation on the legal issues with Cryptocurrency and reviewed statistics on how the cryptocurrency kiosks located throughout Wood County, with their 20-30% fees associated with it, are scamming residents out of their money. Wisconsin is only one of 5 states that do not have laws on the books regulating these kiosks. Legislation has been introduced in the Wisconsin state senate, however the bill is not moving through the legislature at this time.
- 6. The Communications Department presented their report and bill listing for review.
- 7. The Emergency Management Department presented their report and bill listing for review.
- 8. The Dispatch Department presented their report and bill listing for review.
- 9. Coroner Patton reviewed the monthly report and bill listing.
- 10. Sheriff Becker reviewed various reports and activities of the Sheriff's Department.
- 11. Motion by Hamilton/Penzkover to approve the voucher listings for Communications, Coroner, Dispatch, Emergency Management, and Sheriff's Department. Motion carried unanimously.
- 12. Chairman Zurfluh declared the meeting adjourned 10:00 AM.

Minutes taken by Trent Miner, County Clerk, and are in draft form until approved at the next meeting.

Public Safety Committee June 9, 2025

	7, 2023
NAME	REPRESENTING
Bill Voeght	Dest 7 Comme
DENNIS POLACH	WCB-14
Tyler Mellinger	EM
Scott GOLDBREG	W056
Shaun Seeker	VIST
RELLIS	WLSD
Ell Eryel	11 Com
Chulie Horgesteys	troop co WCSD
Teo Ashorch	woors County SHENSET'S Depar
Tony BASTIEN	Disparcy
Sarah Christensin	Em
_	
Scott Brehm (Web Ex)	QB District 9
Lance Pline (Ne6 Ex)	CB Chair